The angel at a gas station

the other day I saw a gas station had closed

Yet years ago it was where I pulled over when I needed somewhere to go.

I had left Motel 6 and was trying to gain my bearings, yet no less than 2 miles from my familiars I began to fear paralyzed in fear.

If you have always ever only driven in your familiars when you peck out of them things become mentally blurry.

I had had experiences driving across country and yet, because this moment my permanent housing was in question it was a battle with fear every single footstep.

I saw the gas station and pulled over to fill up.

It was my intention to get gas but right there looking all around I was so deeply aware I needed to refuel my thought.

I pulled to a gas pump and got out of my car and looked up to the sky and wiped away some of the then flowing tears.

Where will I go next

How long would I be able to kee my room

What would happen when Motel 6 was solidly booked in September though they’d said I could stay til then as long as I paid and could.

All these questions flooded my thinking

So while gassing up I was literally refueling my being.

“Pilgrim on earth, thy home is heaven. Stranger thou art the guest of God.”…what came to me…

A favorite line in a beloved text* teaching me how to claim and accept and live my spirituality.

A few moments passed and I calmed down

and a woman came over who asked what was wrong…

She didn’t speak much English

but knew how to love.

I shared with her as best I was able

I needed groceries but didn’t know how to find the nearest market.

(Yes one can use a map and back then I did have a cell phone, yet when Thought is bombarded with fear ones thinking becomes what’s navigable and manageable).

She motioned for me to follow her and drove all the way to a Stop n shop.

It was moments like that

I felt so cared for

and I was able to bulldoze fear of lost and alone even more.

Here was an angel of support who led me where I needed.

Proving to me yet again we each dwell in now heaven of thought harmony.

*Science and Health,

by Mary Baker Eddy

Leave a comment